BM Counter

PROFILE Back to Homepage
Who Is This Moo of which you speak?Some important people in the life of the moo Go trawl through a mess of older entries Love me.. leave me your love! Just in case you wondered A little light relief... come see the moo (pointing and laughing NOT permitted hosted by diaryland

2006-09-05 - 11:50 a.m.

Howdy all � so I�m not at all ready for this walk I�m scared but I�m excited!! I know some of you are fit enough and brave enough NOT to think a 100mile trek across the west highlands is anything other than a saunter but if you know me at all you�ll know I consider walking to work a massive chore. I KNOW both Ali and myself are capable of doing this walk and please don�t think I�m going into it blindly just presuming it will be easy � we have planned and deliberated and discussed this to DEATH and we�re both competent capable adults (contrary to popular belief) I think it�s healthy and respectful of the WILDNESS of the outdoors to be a little bit afraid but AH I�m leaving in 3 days!!! EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK!!!

This feels like the most grown up thing I�ve ever done � despite the fact that I�m a married home-owner but you know� all of that I did WITH Gareth and I don�t fear anything I do with him. If he was going on this walk I wouldn�t be worried he�s like superman to me which is probably a completely unfairly high accolade to place on his head because he is indeed human just like me. Were Gareth going this wouldn�t even NEARLY be as much of an achievement because I�d let HIM be in charge and I�d coerce him into making the decisions because I feel safer that way. Now it�s not that I don�t think Alison is capable because she�s one of the bravest most adaptable people I know but because we grew up together we are equals and I know she will look to me for security as much as I look to her. I�m sure Gareth would LOVE me to react the same way with him � we are very much a team the two of us we�re just a team in which I force him to be the leader. There are situations in which I take the lead and I protect him (mostly that�s for emotional stuff rather than physical though) thinking about this is quite disturbing actually to realise just how much pressure I must be putting on him to PROTECT me to TAKE CARE of me to LEAD � yeah I think I need to be dealing with that actually� good job I started writing this eh?

Anyway yes� I will finish this walk feeling proud and wonderful and probably very very sore. I KNOW it�s going to be a lot more fun that it should be because Alison is just THAT much on my wavelength � I�m so EXCITED!!! Scotland is just so beautiful and stunning and wonderful.. I love it!!!

I will be sleeping mostly outdoors, weeing mostly outdoors and spending my whole day in the fresh air out in the open as far from an office as it�s possible to be in the United Kingdom. (I think that�s such a romantic notion by the way don�t you..? a United Kingdom it always makes me smile when I write it.. no matter how far it is from the actuality of my country) However hard it will be it WILL be fabulous!!! Please think good thoughts for me and if you�re the praying type or even if you�re not and want a reason to start� a few prayers for our safety wouldn�t go amiss.

I will try to take plenty of pictures but my camera is large heavy and not even a little bit water resistant. It also EATS it�s way through batteries and since I won�t have any electrical points I will have to use disposable ones rather than recharging every 6 photo�s like I usually do.

Anyway I should be working shhhhhhhh

Go Back to see silly pictures

lovelovelove

x x x

previous - next

hosted by DiaryLand.com